Consumer FAQsPharmacist FAQs

Pharmacist FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions for Pharmacists on Board Elections


Q: When is the next Board election and what position(s) will be open?

A: The next Board of Pharmacy election is scheduled to begin November 1, 2020. One position on the Board will be filled, the Southeastern District seat presently held by J. Andrew Bowman. Dr. Bowman will complete his first five-year term on April 30, 2021 and is eligible to run for a second term.

The Southeastern District comprises Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, and Wayne Counties.

The winner of this election will begin their term on May 1, 2021.

All pharmacists actively licensed by the Board and living in North Carolina at the time of the election will be eligible to vote. Beginning November 1, pharmacists will simply log in to the Board’s Licensure Gateway and select from the list of candidates.

To be eligible to run, the candidate must be an actively licensed pharmacist residing in one of the counties listed above at the time of the election. Candidates who wish to stand for election will be required to submit a petition signed by ten (10) pharmacists residing in the Southeastern district to the Board office by October 1, 2020. Please contact Kristin Moore at the Board office for petition/signature logistics.

Again, ALL actively licensed pharmacists living in North Carolina at the time of the election are eligible to vote, regardless of the district in which they reside. It is only the candidate and the pharmacists signing the candidate’s petition who are district-limited.

Thank you to those who attended our virtual question-and-answer session on September 9.

Questions about the election should be directed to Jay Campbell, the Board’s Executive Director.




BOARD CERTIFIES RESULTS OF NORTHEASTERN DISTRICT ELECTION.  Please join the Board in congratulating Wallace Nelson of Hertford for being elected by North Carolina pharmacists to represent the Northeastern District.  The Board certified the Northeastern District election results by teleconference meeting on Thursday, March 26.  Please also join the Board in thanking Cornelius Toliver for a terrific campaign for the seat.  Click here to see the vote totals.



BOARD CERTIFIES RESULTS OF CENTRAL DISTRICT ELECTION. Please join the Board in congratulating Dr. Ashley Duggins of Asheboro for being elected by North Carolina pharmacists to continue representing the Central District. The Board certified the Central District election results by conference call on Monday, March 2. Click here to see vote totals for this district.


Return to Pharmacist FAQ Menu